Skip to content

Building A Castle

June 28, 2008

We made a castle today,
all my friends and me.
It is by far the most beautiful building
that you will ever see.

We built tall balconies, turrets,
a moat and several towers.
Building a castle is lots of work,
it took us many hours.

We placed the flags atop our castle,
and then stood back to see,
The wondrous place we had created,
all my friends and me.

We noticed our castle is starting to droop,
and boy does it smell bad.
We probably shouldn’t have built with just cheese,
but that was all we had.

*This silly poem is dedicated to Bal who told me a wonderful story all about a castle made of cheese that he built. It inspired me to imagine what might happen during the building process.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2008 8:12 pm

    Very cute. My fav. kind of cheese if Colby Jack..in case you were wondering.Thank you for the encouraging email. I really needed it. Made me cry. I’m sure things will work out, just not sure how…

  2. June 29, 2008 2:02 am

    What a fun poem! I am no good at poetry writing. I bet your kids get their creativity from you… with all their notes and drawings and such!

  3. June 29, 2008 2:09 am

    Love it! It reads like Shel Silverstein…

  4. June 29, 2008 2:59 pm

    wow. you’re one creative mom. i agree with lifeatthecircus, you must be the etiology of their creativity. Hehe 🙂

  5. June 29, 2008 4:44 pm

    wow. You wrote that? That is just like mommytime says; reminiscent of Shel Silverstein.I once read a true story about a emissary that had a house built of chocolate. No. It’s true!

  6. June 30, 2008 4:23 am

    Aww Thats too cute! Im printing this one off!

Leave a comment